Little Miss Firecracker, Parade Honors Highlight Otwell Celebration

The Otwell 4th of July celebration is now in the books, but the weekend saw several different individuals and groups be honored with awards.

The Little Miss Firecracker pageant was held on Thursday evening to kick off the 3 day celebration in Otwell. Katherine Burkhart was named as this year’s Little Miss Firecracker. She is the daughter of Max and Starla Burkhart. Jessa Marie Ridao (RADIO) was the 1st runner-up while Elle Readle was named most photogenic and Calleigh Wibbeler was honored with the director’s award.

There were also several honors given from this year’s parade. More than 100 units participated in the parade, which drew a very large crowd to Otwell. The parade judging was broken down into six different classes: floats, antique vehicles, marching units, emergency/fire, open, and horses/mules.

Jasper Engines and Transmissions took home top honors in the float class, followed by Buchta Trucking in 2nd and Travis Troutman for County Council’s float in 3rd. In the Antique Vehicle Class, Jan Hollis took home top honors with a 14T touring ride. The Southern Indiana Leathernecks were named as the best marching unit, the Jasper Fire Department’s 1929 General fire truck won the emergency/fire class, Hoffman Farms won the open class, and Abby Clark took home top honors in the horse and mule class with a horse named Fred.

The Otwell 4th of July celebration concluded Saturday night with the demolition derby.